Smoke & Carbon Monoxide Detector Inspections
All Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector Inspection appointments for Certificate of Compliance must be made in person at the Fire Prevention Office, Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. – Noon. Compliance inspections are required to be scheduled two weeks prior to the closing date. The two-week notice will allow time for re-inspection and avoid delays in closing of the sale.
A $50 inspection fee is required at the time of scheduling and it can be paid by cash or check. Checks are to be made payable to the Town of Falmouth.
A representative of the owner or occupant must be available at the time of inspection; Inspectors shall not enter unoccupied buildings at any time.
We do inspections in the villages of Falmouth, Woods Hole, North Falmouth and West Falmouth on Wednesdays. East Falmouth inspections are done on Thursdays.
If your house has a low voltage fire alarm system, (the type that is monitored or has been monitored in the past by a central station alarm company) then an alarm technician must be present in order to conduct the test per manufacturer specifications.
A house number visible from the street is also required at the time of inspection. If the number is on the house, but not visible from the street, one must be posted at the end of the driveway.
Certificates of Compliance are only valid for 60 days. Please see the Guide to Massachusetts Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Requirements, on this website, for more specific information about what is required in order to receive a Certificate of Compliance for resale of your house, including locations of Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors.
A re-inspection fee of $50.00 will be required in the following circumstances:
• No house number posted, in accordance with Massachusetts General Law Chapter 148, Section 59, and Chapter 99 of the Falmouth Town Code.
• No smoke detectors or Carbon Monoxide detectors located in home upon Inspectors arrival.
• No batteries in detector or a non-functioning smoke detector. (Non-functioning shall mean that the horn doesn’t sound).
• Not the required amount of smoke detectors located in the structure. (A minimum of one (1) smoke detector per floor for every 1,200 sq. ft.)
• Smoke detectors that are over ten years old or Carbon Monoxide detectors over six years old.
• If the Broker/ Homeowner doesn’t show up for his/ her scheduled appointment and there is no contact prior to the inspection.