OPEN BURNING SEASON 2020
THERE IS NO CHARGE
EFFECTIVE MARCH 16, 2020,
BURNING REGULATIONS WILL BE
AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY OF FALMOUTH FIRE DEPT.,
399 MAIN ST., FALMOUTH
(PLEASE TAKE ONE FOR EACH PROPERTY)
BURNING REGULATIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT RULES AND REGULATIONS
WE ASK THAT YOU CALL THE FFRD OPEN BURNING LINE, 508-495-2506 BETWEEN 9:30 A.M. AND NOON, TO DETERMINE IF ALLOWING BURNING. (PLEASE DO NOT CALL EMERGENCY NUMBER FOR INFORMATION)
THE HOURS OF OPEN BURNING ARE FROM
10:00 A.M. TO 4:00 P.M.
OPEN BURNING SEASON IS JANUARY 15 THROUGH MAY 1
PLEASE FOLLOW ALL REGULATIONS FOR OPEN BURNING
PLEASE PRINT THE REGULATIONS BELOW.
In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 148, and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Fire Prevention Regulation 527 CMR1 and Department of Environmental Protection Regulation 310 CMR7, the following regulations must be followed:
You must call the Falmouth Fire Rescue Department non-emergency line at
(508) 495·2506 between 9:30AM and 12:00 hours. No calls will be accepted before
9:30 am or after 12:00 hours. Open burning is allowed from January 15 through May 1, inclusive of these dates.
Listed below are items you may burn:
1. Domestic or commercial tree trimmings and pruning (brush).
2. Maintenance of existing access ways.
3. Driftwood or storm debris in the form of branches.
Listed below are items that you MAY NOT burn:
1. Leaves, grass, hay or pine needles.
2. Construction or demolition debris.
3. Materials from land clearing, site or road development.
4. Any other materials not indicated above as those you may burn.
Rules of Open Burning:
1. A responsible person must attend to the fire at all times.
2. The burn area must be not closer than 75 feet from any structure.
3. You must have a readily available source to extinguish the fire (hose, rake, and shovel).
4. Flammable liquids must not be used as an ignition source as to prevent injury.
5. The hours of burning are from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. The fire must be extinguished by 4:00 PM.
Violations of these regulations will result in revocation of your permit, and may result in payment of fines or imprisonment.